Zur deutschen Version wechseln Zur deutschen Version wechseln
Pfeil

Glossary

IYPT

The International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT) is a team-oriented scientific competition among teams of secondary school students from all over the world. Each participating country is represented by a team consisting of five students. More than 25 countries from all continents participate in the IYPT. Therefore the IYPT is a real Physics World Cup.

AYPT

The Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament (AYPT) is a team-oriented scientific competition among teams of secondary school students. The AYPT is, among other things, a qualification tournament to select those students who will represent Austria as a national team at the International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT). The AYPT is organized and executed by the association AYPT. This association is the national YPT organization for Austria, which has been officially recognized by the IYPT.

IOC

The International Organizing Committee (IOC) is a body of the International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT). Each participating country is represented by one member. The IOC makes all important decisions about the IYPT, which do not directly concern the local organization. These decisions are made by the LOC (Local Organizing Committee). The IOC e.g. decides about the problems for the IYPT.

LOC

The Local Organizing Committee (LOC) is the body which organizes and executes the AYPT (or IYPT respectively).

Fight

The rounds of the AYPT (or IYPT) are called Fights or Physics Fights. Three or four teams participate in such a Fight. The duration of a Fight is approximately three to four hours. A Fight consists of three or four Stages. The exact course of a Fight seems a bit complicated at first glimpse.

Stage

A Stage is a part of a Fight. A Stage lasts about one hour and its course is precisly prescribed by the regulations.

Reporter

The Reporter is the team (or team member, respectively) who presents his solution to one of the 17 problems and defends it in a discussion with the Opponent.

Opponent

The Opponent is the team (or team member, respectively), who tries to find the strenghts and weaknesses of the Reporter's presentation.

Reviewer

The Reviewer is the team (or team member, respectively), who tries to find and sum up the Reporter's and Opponent's strengths and weaknesses.

Observer

The Observer team does not participate actively in the Stage. Observer teams are necessary if the total number of teams is not divisible by three. In that case there is at least one group in the tournament in which four teams participate. Such a Fight consists of four instead of three Stages, since one more Stage is needed before each team has had each role once.

Captain

The Captain of a team is its official representative during the Fights. In case of disputes the Captain may make necessary decisions.

teamleader

The coaching teacher of a team is called the teamleader. During the Fight he or she may not speak to or interact with the team.

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

General information on, the invitation to and the preliminary schedule of the 18 th Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament 2016 are available now as well as some changes in the regulations !!

More...

2015-10-05 — General Assembly 2015

The General Assembly 2015 will take place on November 28, 2015.

More...

2015-07-09 — Problems for 2016

The Problems for 2016 can be found here .

More...

Read all news

View this page in English View this page in English
Pfeil

Glossar

IYPT

Das International Young Physicists' Tournament (auf Deutsch: Internationales Turnier junger PhysikerInnen), abgekürzt IYPT, ist ein teamorientierter, wissenschaftlicher Wettbewerb zwischen Teams aus Mittelschülern aus der ganzen Welt. Jedes teilnehmende Land ist durch ein Team bestehend aus fünf Schülern vertreten. Am IYPT nehmen über 25 Teams aus allen Kontinenten teil. In diesem Sinne handelt es sich dabei um eine Physik-Weltmeisterschaft. Um sich von der Physik-Olympiade abzugrenzen führt das IYPT manchmal auch den Beinamen Physcis World Cup.

AYPT

Das Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament (auf Deutsch: Österreichisches Turnier junger PhysikerInnen), abgekürzt AYPT, ist ein teamorientierter, wissenschaftlicher Wettbewerb zwischen Teams aus Mittelschülern. Das AYPT dient unter anderem als Qualifikations-Wettbewerb, bei dem jene Schüler ausgewählt werden, die als Nationalteam Österreich beim entsprechenden internationalen Turnier, dem IYPT (International Young Physicists' Tournament, auf deutsch: Internationales Turnier junger Physiker), vertreten sollen. Das AYPT wird vom Verein AYPT organisiert und durchgeführt. Dieser Verein ist die vom IYPT offiziell anerkannte nationale Sub-Organisation für Österreich.

IOC

Das International Organizing Committee (IOC) ist ein Gremium des International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT). Jedes teilnehmende Land hat einen stimmberechtigten Vertreter. Das IOC trifft alle wichtigen Entscheidungen für das IYPT, die nicht unmittelbar mit der lokalen Organisation zu tun haben. Diese Entscheidungen obliegen dem LOC (Local Organizing Committee). Beispielsweise legt das IOC die Aufgabenstellungen für das IYPT fest.

LOC

Das Local Organizing Committee (LOC) ist jenes Komitee, das die Durchführung des AYPTs (bzw. des IYPTs) vor Ort plant und realisiert.

Problems

Die Aufgabenstellungen für das AYPT und IYPT werden als Problems bezeichnet. Sie werden vom IOC festgelegt. Gemäß einer ungeschriebenen Regel gibt es immer genau 17 Problems für ein Jahr.

Fight

Die Runden des AYPT und IYPT werden Fights bzw. Physics Fights genannt. An einem Fight nehmen drei oder vier Teams teil. Die Dauer eines Fights beträgt je nachdem 3-4 Stunden. Ein Fight besteht aus drei oder vier Stages. Der genau Ablauf ist auf den ersten Blick etwas kompliziert.

Stage

Als Stage wird ein Teil eines Fights bezeichnet. Eine Stage dauert ca. 1 Stunde und ihr Ablauf ist durch die Regeln des Turniers sehr präzise vorgegeben.

Reporter

Mit Reporter bezeichnet man jenes Team bzw. jenes Team-Mitglied, das in einer Stage die Aufgabe hat eine Lösung zu einer der 17 Aufgaben zu präsentieren und diese Lösung in einer Diskussion mit dem Opponent zu verteidigen.

Opponent

Mit Opponent bezeichnet man jenes Team bzw. jenes Team-Mitglied, das in einer Stage die Aufgabe hat die Stärken und Schwachpunkte der Präsentation des Reporters zu finden und diese in einer Kritikrede und Diskussion aufzuzeigen.

Reviewer

Mit Reviewer bezeichnet man jenes Team bzw. jenes Team-Mitglied, das in einer Stage die Aufgabe hat die Stärken und Schwachpunkte der beiden anderen Teams (Reporter und Opponent) zu finden und aufzuzeigen.

Observer

Das Observer-Team nimmt nicht aktiv an einer Stage teil. Observer-Teams sind notwendig, wenn die Gesamtzahl an Teams nicht durch drei teilbar ist. In diesem Fall gibt es mindestens eine Gruppe im Turnier, in welcher vier Teams teilnehmen. Ein solcher Fight hat dann auch vier statt drei Stages, da es um eine Stage länger dauert, bis jedes Team jede Rolle einmal inne hatte.

Team-Captain

Als Team-Captain bezeichnet man jenen Teilnehmer, der das Team während des Fights nach außen vertritt. Im Falle von Streitigkeiten oder Unklarheiten kann der Team-Captain notwendige Entscheidungen treffen.

Team-Leader

Der betreuende Lehrer eines Teams wird als Team-Leader bezeichnet. Er darf während des Fights nicht mit seinem Team sprechen oder eingreifen

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

Infos , Ausschreibung und vorläufiges Programm sowie Änderungen des Reglements des AYPT 2016 sind ab sofort verfügbar!

Mehr...

2015-11-08 — Erfahrungsbericht IYPT 2015 in Thailand

Ein Artikel von Luisa Schrempf über das IYPT 2015 in Thailand.

Mehr...

2015-10-05 — Generalversammlung 2015

Die Generalversammlung 2015 findet am 28.11.2015 statt.

Mehr...

Alle News lesen