Zur deutschen Version wechseln Zur deutschen Version wechseln
Pfeil

The International Young Physicists' Tournament

The International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT), sometimes referred to as "Physics-Worldcup", is a team-oriented competition between secondary school students. The course is virtually identical to that of the AYPTs.
Strictly speaking one should say that the AYPT is similar to the IYPT since the AYPT is based on the IYPT as a national qualification in Austria.

History

The concept behind the IYPT originates from the former Soviet Union. After a tournament of that kind was executed there for quite a while the first international IYPT took place in 1988. One of the first western countries to participate where the Netherlands. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the IYPT was carried out in other European countries as well, whereas the number of participating countries grew continuosely.

The Austrian National Team at the IYPT 2005 in Winterthur (Switzerland) The Austrian National Team at the IYPT 2005 in Winterthur (Switzerland)

In 1998, Austria participated the first time in the 11th IYPT in Donaueschingen (Germany). In the following year the AYPT was organized as a qualification competition for the first time. In 1999 Austria furthermore had the honour of organizing the 12th IYPT in Vienna.

In 2004, the IYPT took place outside of Europe for the first time. Venue was Brisbane (Australia).

Meanwhile, the number of participating countries has grown to over 25. There are also representatives from every continent in the meantime.

In addition the IYPT has developed from a lose community of idealists into an officially registered corporation. In many countries there are national organizations, corporations and associations now which organize qualification competitions and represent their respective countries in the committees of the IYPT. Some of these associations, including the Austrian association AYPT , also have been officially and formally recognized by the IYPT in the meantime.

Venues

The IYPT is held in another country every year. The IOC decides which of the applying countries may inherit the holding. The organisation itself is then accomplished by Local Organizing Committee (LOC).
Here a list of some past and future (planned) venues:

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

General information on, the invitation to and the preliminary schedule of the 18 th Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament 2016 are available now as well as some changes in the regulations !!

More...

2015-10-05 — General Assembly 2015

The General Assembly 2015 will take place on November 28, 2015.

More...

2015-07-09 — Problems for 2016

The Problems for 2016 can be found here .

More...

Read all news

View this page in English View this page in English
Pfeil

Das International Young Physicists' Tournament

Das International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT), manchmal auch als "Physik-Weltmeisterschaft" bezeichnet, ist ein teamorientierter Wettbewerb zwischen Mittelschülern. Der Ablauf ist nahezu identisch mit jenem des AYPTs.
Genau genommen müsste man sagen, dass das AYPT ähnlich dem IYPT ist. Denn das AYPT wurde als nationaler Qualifikationswettbewerb in Östereich dem IYPT nachempfunden.

Geschichte

Die Idee zum IYPT stammt aus der ehemaligen UdSSR. Nachdem es dort ein Turnier dieser Art bereits einige Zeit lang gegeben hatte, fand im Jahr 1988 das erste internationale IYPT statt. Eines der ersten westlichen Ländern, die daran teilnahmen waren die Niederlande. Nach dem Zerfall der UdSSR wurde das IYPT auch in anderen europäischen Ländern ausgetragen, wobei die Anzahl der teilnehmenden Länder stetig wuchs.

Das österreichische Nationalteam beim IYPT 2005 in Winterthur (Schweiz) Das österreichische Nationalteam beim IYPT 2005 in Winterthur (Schweiz)

Österreich nahm im Jahr 1998 zum ersten Mal am 11. IYPT in Donaueschingen (Deutschland) teil. Im darauffolgenden Jahr wurde zum ersten Mal das AYPT als Qualifikationswettbewerb organisiert. Außerdem hatte Österreich die Ehre das 12. IYPT im Jahr 1999 in Wien zu organisieren.

Im Jahr 2004 fand das erste IYPT außerhalb Europas statt. Austragungsort war Brisbane (Australien).

Mittlerweile ist die Anzahl an teilnehmenden Ländern auf über 25 angestiegen. Auch gibt es inzwischen Repräsentanten von allen Kontinenten.

Darüber hinaus hat sich das IYPT von einer losen Gemeinschaft von Idealisten zu einer offiziell eingetragenen Körperschaft entwickelt. In vielen Ländern gibt es inzwischen nationale Organisationen, Vereine und Körperschaften, die Qualifikationsbewerbe abhalten und ihr jeweiliges Land in den Gremien des IYPTs vertreten. Einige dieser Organisationen, darunter auch der österreichische Verein AYPT, sind inzwischen auch offiziell und formal vom IYPT anerkannt worden.

Austragungsorte

Das IYPT wird jedes Jahr in einem anderen Land ausgetragen. Das IOC entscheidet, welches der sich bewerbenden Länder die Austragung übernehmen darf. Die Organisation selbst wird dann von einem lokalen Organisationskomitee (LOC) durchgeführt.
Eine Liste einiger vergangener und zukünftiger (geplanter) Austragungsorte:

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

Infos , Ausschreibung und vorläufiges Programm sowie Änderungen des Reglements des AYPT 2016 sind ab sofort verfügbar!

Mehr...

2015-11-08 — Erfahrungsbericht IYPT 2015 in Thailand

Ein Artikel von Luisa Schrempf über das IYPT 2015 in Thailand.

Mehr...

2015-10-05 — Generalversammlung 2015

Die Generalversammlung 2015 findet am 28.11.2015 statt.

Mehr...

Alle News lesen