Zur deutschen Version wechseln Zur deutschen Version wechseln
Pfeil

IYPT 2007 in Seoul, Korea

by Florian Andritsch

Preparation for the Competition

Kathi and her well packaged scientific equipment Kathi and her well packaged "scientific equipment"

This year's preparation was again held in Vienna at the Institute of Experimental Physics at the University of Vienna. The team and the "IYPT-veterans" Tim Hell, Georg Hofferek and Ulrike Regner conducted various experiments and, with the help of Ass.Prof. Dr. Heinz Kabelka, Mag. Christa Deinlein and Dr. Heribert Tilgner, developed interesting theories to explain the observed phenomena.

During two long weekends a fluid lens system was developed, ink droplets learned to swim, it was investigated how razor blades react to an external electric field and mud 2007++ was invented to help the team understand the properties of non newtonian fluids.

After the second meeting and as soon as all "scientific equipment" was packed the long journey to Korea started.


Outward Journey (July 03rd - July 04th)

On July 3rdwe heavily loaded made our way to the Vienna International Airport. At 3:30 pm our plane to Dubai took off. After four hours of transfer time in Dubai we boarded our connection flight to Seoul. We used that spare time to drink some coffee and enjoy the flair. Both flights were without any turbulence and very comfortable.

 On the flight to Seoul (Himalaye region) On the flight to Seoul (Himalaye region)

After 20 hours we touched town in Seoul where it was already 7pm because of the 7 hours time difference. A person with a big "AUSTRIA" sign was waiting for us. It was Woo "Phoebe" Rim our Korean guide. We had to wait for the Brazilian team so we used the time before we could go to the hotel to take a picture of the Austrian delegation with our guide.

The Austrian Delegation upon arrival in Seoul The Austrian Delegation upon arrival in Seoul

When we arrived at the hotel it was already 10pm, so we had dinner and after that went to our rooms. Everyone got a backpack with an 2GB USB stick, an umbrella, a fan and a pen inside as a present. All that had of course the IYPT logo on it.

We went to bed at midnight, which turned out to be the usual time we went to bed the following days.


The First Day – Opening Ceremony – 05th of July 2007

For the first day a tour through Kyungwon University and the Opening Ceremony were scheduled. In the evening we were welcomed by a well organized "Welcome Party". On the tour we saw some of Korea's leading nano technology research. We also learned to appreciate the air conditioning technology, since temperatures around 30° Celsius and very high air humidity made long periods outside a torture. On top of that having to wear a suit most of the time didn't really help to make the heat more bearable.

Korean Fan Dance at the Opening Ceremony Korean Fan Dance at the Opening Ceremony

After lunch at the university canteen we saw a marvelous performance of a traditional Korean dance. The university students danced to rhythms played on traditional Korean drums.

Then we continued to the great hall where the opening ceremony was held. First some important people held a couple of speeches and then we got a really good insight into Korean culture, dance and music. There was a spectacular Taekwondo performance followed by a very beautiful fan dance. Between those the order in which the teams would compete against each other in the Physics-Fights was drawn.

Welcome Dinner Welcome Dinner
Flags along the motorway Flags along the motorway

The Welcome Party in the evening was actually a gala dinner with live music. We were also astonished to see that there were giant banners welcoming us to the IYPT everywhere and even all flags of all participating countries were fixed to the light poles on the motorway.


First Fight - Olympic Park Tour - 06th of July 2007

Kathi and Thomas at the Fight Kathi and Thomas at the Fight

The next day the first Selective Fight was scheduled to take place. We were in one group with Slovakia and Korea. Luckily we were only Reviewer in the first Stage, so we could observe how well the other teams were prepared, compared to us.

In the Olympic Park In the Olympic Park

Later on we visited the nearby "Olympic Park", a big park which had been created in 1988, when the Olympic Games were held in Seoul. A big spot of green, in the center of a huge city (Seoul has approx. 15 million inhabitants).

Again we got the impression that guests are always welcome in Korea, when a friendly walker approached us and talked to us. ("Are your hearts clear of all sins?")

In the evening we discussed our performance in the first Fight and prepared for the next day.


Second and Third Fight - Concert - 07th of July 2007

Thomas as Opponent in a Fight Thomas as Opponent in a Fight

The next day began with quite a success, when we won a Fight against the teams from Australia (which later on won the overall competition) and from Czech Republic. On this day, however, two Fights had been scheduled and therefore we had to go back to the Fight Rooms after lunch. The teams which we met in the afternoon were Brazil and Cyprus. Again, we were able to win this round.

After these Fights we had dinner. But before we went back to the hotel, we had the opportunity of listening to a classical concert performance. We heard a mixture of Mozart, Beethoven and Korean composers.

Afterwards, back at the hotel, we used the last hours of the day to prepare for the next Fight, and to discuss our perfomance of that day. Since we had won both groups we were in we were quite content with our accomplishments.


Fourth Fight - National Museum - Han River Cruise - 08th of July 2007

Han River Cruise Han River Cruise

Morning was quite the same every day; at 06:30am the phone rang. Phoebe, our guide, was supposed to wake us up. A job, which she fulfilled very reliably. Then just a quick shower and breakfast, because at 07:45am the busses to the university, where the competition was held, were supposed to depart.

In the fourth Physics Fight we met again a Korean team and the team from the United States. As expected, it turned out to be a challenging Fight, since both teams were ahead of us, in the intermediate ranking.

In the afternoon we visited the Korean National Museum. In this huge building the history of Korea is documented from the earliest times.

Dinner was another highlight of that day, because it took place on a ship, cruising on the Han River. We had a very interesting view of Seoul, which was very spectacular, even after sunset. We saw a lot of illuminated bridges and a lot of very high buildings.

After we had returned to the hotel, we made preparations for the following Fight, one last time. Reaching the Finals seemed already impossible at that time. But that did not mean that we put less effort in preparing our Opponence. We had a clear goal: We wanted to beat Switzerland, because they were just a few points ahead of us.


Fitfh Fight - Gyeongbokgung Palace - 09th of July 2007

We were well prepared when we left the hotel that morning. In the last Selective Physics Fight we met the teams of the Netherlands, Switzerland and Nigeria. The Fight turned out to be a success for us. Once more, we were able to win the group.

Gyeongbokgung Palace Gyeongbokgung Palace
The team imitates the Royal ceremony by carrying Kathi around The team imitates the Royal ceremony by carrying Kathi around

We spent the afternoon of that day visiting the Royal Palace of the old times. For demonstration purposes some people in costumes performed some sort of Royal Ceremony. The "King" was escorted by many guards from one building of the palace complex to another one.

We had some special plans for the evening. Our team wanted to meet the Swiss team for a very special and private "Fight". We wanted to exchange some of our presentations and then each team was supposed to present a solution of the other team. Of course there was also an Opponent and a Jury. We had lots of fun with this very special Fight.


Samsung Electronics - Folk Village - 10th of July 2007

A house in the Folk Village A house in the Folk Village

Since there were no more fights the next day was reserved for sightseeing. In the morning we went to visit one of the headquaters of Samsung Electronics. We were able to see the development of all the division fo the electronic industry. Furthermore we could have a look at many products, ranging from memory chips, over plasma TV sets with 2.5m screen size, mobile phones with 10 megapixel cameras and zoom lens to MP3 players with integrated speakers. (Unfortunately we were not allowed to take any photographs during our visit.) In the end we got a 2GB USB memory stick as a present.

Thomas experiments with a see-saw Thomas experiments with a see-saw

After lunch in the Samsung cafeteria we went to the so-called "Folk Village". A traditional Korean village, which had been reconstructed in the middle of Seoul. We learned how the people used to live in the old times, which plants they grew and which animals they domesticated. Furthermore we encountered a very special plaything: A see-saw with which two persons can catapult each other up in the air. Especially Thomas and Florian were fascinated by the scientific principle and performed a lot of personal experiments. After we had a typical Korean dinner (beef with rice and bean sprouts) we went back to the hotel.

Thomas learns Phoebe how to dance Waltz Thomas learns Phoebe how to dance Waltz

Since each team had been asked to do some sort of "cultural performance" at the Farewell Party at the end of the tournament, and we had decided to dance Waltz on stage, it was time to start practizing for that. Especially since we had asked our guide Phoebe to join us for the performance. So now we had to learn her how to dance Waltz within two days. (She turned out to learn very quickly and performed very well in the end.)


Finals - Closing Ceremony - Farewell Party - 11th of July 2007

Time went by fast. Before we knew it, it was already July 11th and the Finals were supposed to take place. So after breakfast we went to the great hall of the university where the teams of Australia, New Zealand and Korea (2) prepared for their final performance on stage.

It was a strange feeling, watching a Fight from the audience point of view, without being able to contribute. After the third Stage we quickly calculated the scores from the jurors grades and concluded that the Australien team had won. But of course before congratulations were in order we had to wait for the official results at the Closing Ceremony.

The Austrian Team after the Closing Ceremony The Austrian Team after the Closing Ceremony

The ceremony took place after lunch. Again it was a very celebratory atmosphere. First the teams which had achieved honourable mention were asked to the stage. After that there was a performance of a famous Korean musician. Then we were called to the stage to receive our bronze medals. As an additional prize we received an MP3 player and of course also a certificate.

After another musicial intermission the teams from the Finals were called to the stage. New Zealand and Korea (2) both had won a silver medal. So we knew tht Australia was the champion and winner of the competition. The vice-champions received a digital camera as a prize.

The Australian Team at the Closing Ceremony The Australian Team at the Closing Ceremony

When the Australian team was presented their gold medals the audience was giving lots of applause and also standing ovations. The first prize was a laptop for each team member. After that Gunnar Tibell, President of the IYPT, officially declared the 20th IYPT closed.

In the evening the Farewell Party and the "cultural performances" took place. It was a very interesting evening with lots of interesting performances. At the end there was a special performance of the famous B-Boys, a Korean breakdance group. We spent the night celebrating with the other teams, throughout the hotel.


Last Day - 12th of July 2007

The 63Building 63Building

12th of July was departure day for most of the teams. Our flight was scheduled to depart from Incheon Airport at 11:55pm, so we had the whole day for additional sightseeing in Seoul. Our guide lead us to the 63building, one of the highest buildings in Seoul, from which we had a spectacular view of the city.

In the afternoon we went to a shopping street, to fulfill the whishes of our female fraction. The day went by faster than we expected and soon we had to go for the airport, from where we were about to leave Korea. After we checked in without any troubles we had to say Goodbye to our guide Phoebe, of who we really had become fond of during our visit.

Shopping Shopping

Shortly after that we were already aboard the airplane, back on the way to Dubai, where we had to wait 5 hours for our connection to Vienna. We used that time to exchange all the photos we had made during the week and to walk around the airport.

At 13:13 (local time) on Friday the 13th of July we safely landed in Vienna. There we seperated and each of us took the last part of the journey on his own, back to Vienna, Graz, Salzburg and Trofaiach.


We have kept a lot of good memories of Korea and of the competition. The IYPT exceeded our expectations and with a lot of new friends and a great success we close the chapter "20th IYPT Seoul/Korea". May it be followed by an equally great and successfull 21st IYPT!


More...

More pictures and impressions of the IYPT

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

General information on, the invitation to and the preliminary schedule of the 18 th Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament 2016 are available now as well as some changes in the regulations !!

More...

2015-10-05 — General Assembly 2015

The General Assembly 2015 will take place on November 28, 2015.

More...

2015-07-09 — Problems for 2016

The Problems for 2016 can be found here .

More...

Read all news

View this page in English View this page in English
Pfeil

IYPT 2007 in Seoul, Korea: Bericht

von Florian Andritsch

Vorbereitungen

Kathi mit gut verpacktem Equipment Kathi mit gut verpacktem Equipment

Die Vorbereitungen zum IYPT fanden auch heuer wieder in Wien statt, im Institut für Experimentalphysik der Uni Wien. Das Team sowie die "IYPT-Veteranen" Tim Hell, Georg Hofferek und Ulrike Regner experimentierten mit Hilfe von Ass.Prof. Dr. Heinz Kabelka, Mag. Christa Deinlein und Dr. Heribert Tilgner.

An zwei verlängerten Wochenenden wurden flüssige Linsen fabriziert, wurde mit Schlamm ("Schlamm2007++") experimentiert, Tintentropfen das Schwimmen beigebracht und untersucht, warum und wie sich Rasierklingen von elektrischen Feldern bewegen lassen.

Im Anschluss an das zweite Treffen und sobald alles "scientific equipment" verpackt war ging die lange Reise nach Korea los.


Anreise (03. - 04. Juli)

Am 3. Juli machten wir uns schwer bepackt auf den Weg zum Flughafen Wien-Schwechat. Um 15:30 hob unser Fly Emirates Flug Richtung Dubai ab, von wo aus wir nach einer vierstündigen Wartezeit weiter Richtung Seoul flogen. In Dubai verbrachten wir die wenigen Stunden bis zum Weiterflug mit Kaffeetrinken und Menschen beobachten. Beide Flüge waren frei von Turbulenzen, also sehr angenehm.

Der Hinflug (Himalaya-Gebiet) Der Hinflug (Himalaya-Gebiet)

Als wir in Seoul landeten waren 20 Stunden vergangen, doch aufgrund der Zeitdifferenz von 7 Stunden war es bereits 19 Uhr. Wir wurden äußerst freundlich von einer Person mit großem "AUSTRIA" Schild empfangen. Es war Woo „Phoebe“ Rim, unser Guide, wie sich später herausstellte. Bevor wir weiter ins Hotel fahren konnten mussten wir noch auf das brasilianische Team warten, also machten wir in der Zwischenzeit ein Gruppenfoto der österreichischen Delegation mit Guide.

Das Team bei der Ankunft in Seoul Das Team bei der Ankunft in Seoul

Nach unserer Ankunft im Hotel, es war mittlerweile 22 Uhr, gab es noch Abendessen, bevor wir unsere Zimmer bezogen. Jeder von uns bekam zudem noch einen Rucksack mit IYPT Logo und einigen Geschenken im Inneren, wie zum Beispiel einen USB-Stick, einen Fächer und einen Regenschirm (alles mit IYPT Logo).

Bis wir ins Bett kamen war es bereits Mitternacht, eine für ein IYPT übliche Zeit, wie sich in den darauf folgenden Tagen noch herausstellen sollte.


Erster Tag - Eröffnung - 05. Juli 2007

Das Programm für den ersten Tag sah eine Besichtigung der Kyungwon-Universität sowie die Eröffnungszeremonie und am Abend die "Welcome-Party" vor. Es wurde gezeigt, wie die Universität im Bereich der Nanotechnologie forscht und arbeitet. Ganz nebenbei lernten wir die Technologie der Klimaanlage immer mehr zu schätzen, bei Außentemperaturen um 30° und sehr hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit, war es an unklimatisierten Orten nicht auszuhalten. Erschwerend kam noch hinzu, dass wir die meiste Zeit im Anzug unterwegs waren.

Koreanischer Fächertanz bei der Eröffnung Koreanischer Fächertanz bei der Eröffnung

Nach dem Mittagessen in der Universitätskantine veranstalteten Studenten eine traditionelle koreanische Tanzaufführung, bei der sie mit typisch koreanischen Trommeln zu diversen Rhythmen tanzten.

Im Anschluss fand die Eröffnungszeremonie statt. Nach einigen Ansprachen gab es zunächst koreanische Musik gefolgt von einer sehr spektakulären Taekwondo Performance und einem Fächertanz. Zwischen den einzelnen Programmpunkten fand die Auslosung für die "Physics-Fights" statt.

Welcome Dinner Welcome Dinner
Flaggen entlang der Straße Flaggen entlang der Straße

Die „Welcome Party“ setzte sich dann aus einem gediegenen Abendessen mit Livemusik zusammen. Sehr beeindruckend war für uns die Tatsache, dass überall riesige Banner mit "Welcome to the 20th IYPT" oder Ähnlichem aufgehängt waren. Sogar die Autobahn war in der Gegend der Universität mit den Flaggen der teilnehmenden Länder geschmückt.


Erster Fight - Olympic Park Tour - 06. Juli 2007

Kathi und Thomas beim Fight Kathi und Thomas beim Fight

Am darauf folgenden Tag sollte die erste Runde des Bewerbs stattfinden. Wir waren in einer Gruppe mit der Slowakei und Korea. Zum Glück konnten wir in der ersten Stage den Part des Reviewers einnehmen, also erst einmal abklären wie stark die gegnerischen Teams sind.

Im Olympic Park Im Olympic Park

Später besichtigten wir den nahe gelegenen "Olympic Park", eine große Parkanlage, die für die Olympischen Spiele 1988 in Seoul errichtet worden war. Ein großes Fleckchen Grün inmitten einer Großstadt (Seoul hat ca. 15 Millionen Einwohner).

Wir bekamen weiters einmal mehr den Eindruck, dass Gäste in Korea jederzeit sehr herzlich willkommen sind, als uns ein sehr freundlicher Spaziergänger ansprach und mit uns redete. („Seid ihr im Grunde eurer Herzen frei von Sünde?“)

Den Abend nutzten wir um den Fight zu besprechen und zur Vorbereitung für den nächsten Tag.


Zweiter und Dritter Fight - Konzertabend - 07. Juli 2007

Thomas als Opponent in einem Fight Thomas als Opponent in einem Fight

Ein, aus Wettkampfsicht, durchaus erfolgreicher Tag begann mit dem Sieg gegen Australien (den späteren Gewinnern) und dem Team aus der Tschechischen Republik. Für den zweiten Bewerbstag waren zwei Fights geplant, so hieß es nach dem Mittagessen wieder zurück in die Fight-Räume zu gehen. Diesmal trafen wir auf die Teams aus Brasilien und Zypern, welche beide in der Wertung hinter uns lagen. Abermals konnten wir diese Gruppe gewinnen.

Nach den beiden Fights gab es Abendessen und bevor wir ins Hotel zurückkehrten besuchten wir noch ein klassisches Konzert mit einer Mischung aus Mozart, Beethoven und koreanischen Komponisten.

Die späteren Stunden dieses Tages verbrachten wir wieder damit, uns auf den nächsten Fight vorzubereiten und die Fights dieses Tages nach zu besprechen. Ein wie gesagt sehr erfolgreicher Tag mit zwei Gruppensiegen, wir waren sehr zufrieden mit unserer Leistung.


Vierter Fight - National Museum - Han Flussfahrt - 08. Juli 2007

Schifffahrt am Han Fluss Schifffahrt am Han Fluss

Der Morgen gestaltete sich Tag für Tag ident; um 06:30 läutete das Telefon, Phoebe, unser Guide, hatte die Aufgabe uns pünktlich zu wecken, was sie auch sehr zuverlässig tat. Anschließend schnell unter die morgendliche Dusche und ab zum Frühstück, denn um 07:45 war Abfahrt zur Universität, wo der Wettbewerb abgehalten wurde.

In der vierten Runde trafen wir abermals auf ein koreanisches Team und auf die USA. Es war erwartungsgemäß ein sehr anspruchsvoller Fight, denn beide Teams lagen in der Zwischenwertung vor uns.

Das Programm sah für den Nachmittag den Besuch des National Museums vor. In diesem riesengroßen Gebäude sind Funde aus frühen Zeiten aufbewahrt und die Geschichte Koreas bis in die Frühzeit anschaulich aufbereitet.

Das Abendessen war ein weiterer Höhepunkt des Tages, denn wir fuhren mit einem Schiff auf dem Fluss Han, welcher sich durch Seoul windet und hatten auf dort unsere Abendmahlzeit. Seoul bot nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit ein sehr spektakuläres Bild, mit den zahlreichen beleuchteten Brücken und hohen Gebäuden.

Nach unserer Rückkehr ins Hotel bereiteten wir uns ein letztes Mal auf einen Fight vor, denn das Finale schien leider außer Sichtweite zu liegen. Deswegen aber keineswegs mit weniger Einsatz besprachen wir unsere Opponence. Unser Ziel war klar: Wir wollten die Schweizer unbedingt schlagen, da sie in der Wertung nur wenige Punkte vor uns lagen.


Fünfter Fight - Gyeongbokgung Palast - 09. Juli 2007

Gut vorbereitet verließen wir das Hotel Richtung Universität. So trafen wir an diesem Tag auf Schweiz, Niederlande und Nigeria. Der letzte Fight verlief ausgesprochen erfolgreich und wir konnten uns ein weiteres Mal behaupten und den Gruppensieg erlangen.

Gyeongbokgung Palast Gyeongbokgung Palast
Das Team spielt die Prozession nach, indem Kathi herumgetragen wird Das Team spielt die Prozession nach, indem Kathi herumgetragen wird

Den Nachmittag dieses Tages verbrachten wir mit der Besichtigung des Königspalastes aus früheren Zeiten. Zur Veranschaulichung gab es eine Gruppe von Leuten, die eine typische Prozessionszeremonie des Königs darstellten, welcher ausschließlich von Wachen begleitet von Gebäude zu Gebäude innerhalb des Palastkomplexes ging.

Für den Abend hatten wir uns mit dem Schweizer Team zu einem ganz besonderen Programmpunkt verabredet. Wir wollten uns gegenseitig die Präsentationen zu einem Problem geben, und das jeweils andere Team musste dann anhand der Präsentation des Gegners einen Report abhalten. Inklusive Opponent und Jury versteht sich. Ein sehr lustiges Spektakel!


Samsung Electronics - Folk Village - 10. Juli 2007

Ein Haus im Folk Village Ein Haus im Folk Village

Da am nächsten Tag keine Fights mehr stattfanden fuhren wir gleich am Vormittag zur Besichtigung einer Zentrale des koreanischen Samsung Konzerns. Wir konnten zum einen die Entwicklungen in den einzelnen Bereichen der Elektronikbranche sowie die aller neuesten Geräte aus allen Sparten sehen und bekamen abermals einen USB-Stick geschenkt, wieder mit 2GB Speicher. Vom ersten 64KB Speicher bis zu den neuesten 16GB Flash Speichern war alles vorhanden, gleich wie Plasmafernseher mit bis zu 2,5m Bildschirmdiagonale, Handys mit 10 Megapixel Kamera und optischen Zoom-Objektiv, sowie MP3-Player mit eingebauten Lautsprechern...
(Leider war bei dieser Tour bei Samsung fotografieren nicht erlaubt.)

Thomas beim Experimentieren mit der Wippe Thomas beim Experimentieren mit der Wippe

Nach dem Mittagessen in der Samsungkantine fuhren wir zum so genannten "Folk Village". Ein traditionelles koreanisches Dorf inmitten Seouls, sorgfältig zusammengebaut. Man konnte sehr gut sehen, wie die Menschen einst lebten, welche Pflanzen sie anbauten, welche Tiere sie besaßen. Ein eher altes Spielgerät, eine Art Wippe mit der man sich gegenseitig in die Höhe katapultiert, hat es besonders Thomas und Florian angetan, sie konnten fast nicht mehr aufhören. Nach einem typischen koreanischen Abendessen (Rindfleisch mit Sojasprossen und Reis) fuhren wir zurück ins Hotel.

Thomas lernt Phoebe Wiener Walzer Thomas lernt Phoebe Wiener Walzer

Da bei der "Farewell Party" am letzten Tag jedes Land gebeten war, eine "Cultural Performance" zu machen, und wir uns entschlossen hatten, Wiener Walzer zu tanzen, begannen wir an unserer Performance z u üben, denn wir wollten unseren Guide einbinden. Also mussten wir ihr in zwei Tagen Walzer lernen, was Thomas sehr gut schaffte.


Finale - Siegerehrung - Farewell Party - 11. Juli 2007

Die Zeit verging schnell, schon war es der 11. Juli, das hieß Finaltag! Nach dem Frühstück ging es diesmal nicht wie üblich zu normalen Fights, sondern zum letzten großen Fight. Die Teams aus Australien, Neuseeland und Korea(2) hatten es ins Finale geschafft, und durften jetzt im großen Festsaal der Universität auf der Bühne gegeneinander antreten.

Es war ein komisches Gefühl, plötzlich als Zuschauer einem Fight beizuwohnen, ohne irgendetwas beitragen zu können. Nach der dritten Runde wurde aufgeregt nachgerechnet und wir kamen zu dem Ergebnis, dass Australien gewonnen haben sollte, doch hieß es, die offiziellen Ergebnisse bis zur Siegerehrung abzuwarten.

Das österreichische Team nach der Siegerehrung Das österreichische Team nach der Siegerehrung

Diese fand gleich nach dem Mittagessen statt, und war wieder in sehr feierlichem Rahmen. Zunächst wurden die Teams außerhalb der Preisränge geehrt, danach gab es eine Darbietung eines blinden koreanischen Harmonikakünstlers, bevor wir aufgerufen wurden. Wir bekamen alle eine Bronzemedaille, eine sehr schöne Urkunde und einen MP3 Player von Samsung.

Im Anschluss war wieder eine musikalische Einlage, dann wurde es spannend: Die beiden Finalteams, die den zweiten Platz erreichten (Neuseeland und Korea 2) wurden auf die Bühne gerufen, somit war klar, dass Australien gewonnen hatte. Diese beiden Teams erhielten jeweils eine Silbermedaille und eine Digitalkamera, zusätzlich zur Urkunde.

Das australiesche (Sieger-)Team bei der Siegerehrung Das australische (Sieger-)Team bei der Siegerehrung

Als das Siegerteam die Bühne betrat stand der ganze Saal auf und klatschte noch ein wenig energischer, als zuvor. Der erste Preis war ein Laptop für jedes Teammitglied. Danach wurde das 20. IYPT von Gunnar Tibell, dem Präsidenten des IYPT, offiziell für beendet erklärt.

Am Abend fanden die "Farewellparty" und die "Cultural Performances" der Teams statt. Ein sehr interessanter Abend, mit vielen lustigen kulturellen Darbietungen aus den verschiedenen Ländern. Zum Abschluss gab es eine Performance der B-Boys, einer koreanischen Breakdancegruppe. Die Nacht verbrachten wir dann mit den anderen Teams in den Hotelzimmern, es wurde noch ausgiebig gefeiert.


Letzter Tag - 12. Juli 2007

Das 63Building Das 63Building

Der 12. Juli war für die meisten Teams der Abreisetag, auch unser Flug ging um 23:55 an diesem Tag. So hatten wir noch einen Tag Zeit, selber etwas in Seoul zu unternehmen. Unser Guide begleitete uns auf des 63Building, einem der höchsten Gebäude Seouls, von dessen oberstem Stockwerk wir einen spektakulären Überblick über die Stadt hatten.

Am Nachmittag besuchten wir noch ein Einkaufszentrum, um dem Shopping-Wunsch unserer weiblichen Fraktion nachzukommen. Der Tag verging schneller als uns lieb war und so machten wir uns auch schon bald auf den Weg zum Flughafen, von wo wir Korea wieder verlassen sollten. Das Einchecken verlief ohne Probleme; nun war es Zeit, sich von unserem Guide, Phoebe, zu verabschieden. Wir hatten sie sehr lieb gewonnen während unseres Aufenthalts.

Beim Shopping Beim Shopping

Kurze Zeit später saßen wir schon im Flugzeug und waren wieder auf dem Weg Richtung Dubai, wo wir diesmal 5 Stunden Aufenthalt hatten. Wir nutzten diese Zeit, um Fotos auszutauschen und uns den Flughafen noch einmal genau anzusehen.

Um 13:13 am Freitag, den 13. Juli, landeten wir schließlich wieder zu Hause in Wien-Schwechat. Von dort aus teilten wir uns in die verschiedenen Richtungen Wien, Graz, Salzburg, Trofaiach auf und jeder trat den letzten Teil seiner Heimreise an.


Wir haben viele schöne Erinnerungen an Korea und den Bewerb mitgenommen. Das IYPT übertraf unsere Erwartungen und mit neu gewonnenen Freunden und einem tollen Erfolg schließen wir das Kapitel "20th IYPT Seoul/Korea" auf das ein ebenso tolles und erfolgreiches 21. IYPT folgen möge!


Weitere pics und Eindrücke

Weitere pics und Eindrücke vom IYPT finden Sie in der gleichnamigen Sektion.

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

Infos , Ausschreibung und vorläufiges Programm sowie Änderungen des Reglements des AYPT 2016 sind ab sofort verfügbar!

Mehr...

2015-11-08 — Erfahrungsbericht IYPT 2015 in Thailand

Ein Artikel von Luisa Schrempf über das IYPT 2015 in Thailand.

Mehr...

2015-10-05 — Generalversammlung 2015

Die Generalversammlung 2015 findet am 28.11.2015 statt.

Mehr...

Alle News lesen