Zur deutschen Version wechseln Zur deutschen Version wechseln
Pfeil

Report on the First Preparatory Seminar in Vienna

by Tim Hell (translated by Georg Hofferek)

IYPT-Preparation in Vienna

Cool Thomas Thomas, 30.6°C cool

As always, this year's preparatory seminars took place at the University of Vienna. As usual, the team worked diligently, assisted by some of the "IYPT veterans" and with the help of Ass.Prof. Dr. Heinz Kabelka and Dr. Heribert Tilgner. Unlike in the past we now have a thermal imager at our disposal, with which we took some portraits. Photographies of our experiments are obviously "top secret", until the IYPT. :)

Day 1

Cool Michael Michael from team Graze, at 35°C

Arrival together with the three team members from Graz, 35 minutes late - thus, within the limits of our measurement error. Thomas starts with a few greetings and we start to discuss the further agenda. After that we do an introductory round. Everyone tells about their strengths and weaknesses, and which tasks are suited for them. Then we start to divide the work. I start to keep minutes of what happens.

Cool Georg Georg, IYPT veteran and chief of IT, here at 34.6°C

All the measurement data, the presentations and all the other material must be kept safe and managable. This year we will use a central svn server as well as our board to ensure communication and data exchange among the participants. Thanks to Georg, who cares about the server!

Cool Heinz Heinz, at 33.8°C

Heinz distributes internet logon credentials and we start to chat via Skype.

Cool Bernhard Bernhard, at exactly 33°C

After that we start the most important and lengthy item on our agenda: All presentations which had been created for the AYPT are discussed. The audience acts as an Opponent and criticism is logged in the board. Report and discussion of each problem takes about the same time as a real IYPT Physics Fight does. At half past four, after having discussed 5 Problems, we had some pizza and a break. During the break we watched the video which we made during the preparation for the IYPT 2007, as well as records of experiments with the potatoe gun in Bernhard's garden.

After we discussed seven problems, our concentration started to decline. We reached a phase of open discussion, with a lot of playful experiments in between (as always, there was plenty of liquid nitrogen at our disposal). But for those problems for which the solution is still rather weak, ideas are still sparkling and the blackboard fills up more and more.

Day 2, 3 and 4

Cool Johannes Johannes starts Day 2 with 34.8°C

Day 2 starts almost punctual at 9 o'clock (which actually means 09:35). Johannes shows one of his Reports. At half past eleven we start the experiments.

Cool Markus Markus, at cool, british 32,7°C

The next days are quite busy. We all miss Angel, most of all Markus. Together they usually entertain us with numerous variations of the Monty Python sketch at the Argument Clinic. No, they don't. Yes they do.

Cool Peter Peter, 34.8°C

Of course, we should not forget to mention Peter and Michaela, our two backup members, who worked at least as hard and motivated as the rest of the team.

Special thanks go also to the abovementioned IYPT veterans. On one hand they share their technical skills and their IYPT experience. And on the other hand these seminars are a good opportunity for them to get to know the new team and to reunite. Ricky paid a visit, who like myself was part of the team in 2006; Harald, who participated in 3 IYPTs and is a real veteran. Florian sent us some Swiss chocolate, because he could not come. Not an adequate, but a delicious compensations. :)

Cooler Tim Tim keeps the minutes of the first preparatoryt seminar, at 35.6°C facial temperature

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

General information on, the invitation to and the preliminary schedule of the 18 th Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament 2016 are available now as well as some changes in the regulations !!

More...

2015-10-05 — General Assembly 2015

The General Assembly 2015 will take place on November 28, 2015.

More...

2015-07-09 — Problems for 2016

The Problems for 2016 can be found here .

More...

Read all news

View this page in English View this page in English
Pfeil

Bericht über das erste Vorbereitungstreffen in Wien

von Tim Hell

IYPT-Arbeit in Wien

Cooler Thomas Thomas bei coolen 30.6°C

Die Vorbereitungen zum IYPT fanden auch heuer wieder in Wien statt, im Institut für Experimentalphysik der Uni Wien. Wie gewohnt arbeitet das Team fleißig mit Unterstützung einger "IYPT-Veteranen" mit Hilfe von Ass.Prof. Dr. Heinz Kabelka und Dr. Heribert Tilgner. Neu ist heuer das Vorhandensein einer Wärmebildkamera, mit der einige Portraits entstehen - Fotos unserer Experimente sind natürlich bis zum IYPT streng geheim :)

Tag 1

Cooler Michael Michael vom Grazer Team mit 35°C

Ankunft zusammen mit den drei Grazern im Team etwa 35 Minuten zu spät - also noch in unserer Messtoleranz. Thomas beginnt mit ein paar begrüßenden Worten und wir besprechen den Ablauf. Dann Vorstellungsrunde, jeder nennt seine Stärken, Schwächen und welche Aufgaben einem liegen. Dann beginnt die Arbeitsverteilung - und ich beginne fleißig zu protokollieren.

Cooler Georg Georg, IYPT-Veteran und Chef-IT-Betreuer hier bei 34.6°C

Die vielen Messdaten, die Präsentationen und anderes Material will sicher und gut verwaltet werden. Deshalb setzen wir heuer einen zentralen svn Server ein und benutzen verstärkt das Forum um gute Kommunikation sicher zu stellen. Dank speziell an Georg, der sich um unsere Server kümmert!

Cooler Heinz Heinz bei coolen 33.8°C

Heinz verteilt dann erstmal an alle Internetzugangsdaten und wir beginnen uns per Skype zu unterhalten.

Cooler Bernhard Bernhard, bei exakt 33°C

Dann folgt der wichtigste und längste Programmpunkt des ersten Treffens: Alle Präsentationen, die für das AYPT entstanden sind, werden durchbesprochen, die Zuschauer spielen Opponent und Kritik wird sofort im Forum festgehalten. Report und Diskussion für jedes Problem nehmen etwa gleich viel Zeit in anspruch wie bei einem echten IYPT Fight. Um halb 5, nach immerhin 5 durchdbesprochenen Problems, gab's aber erstmal Pizza und eine Pause. Dabei gezeigt: Das Video, das im Rahmen der IYPT Vorbereitung 2007 entstanden ist und Aufzeichnungen von Experimenten mit Kartoffelkannonen in Bernhards Garten.

Nach etwa 7 besprochenen Problems beginnt die Konzentration etwas zu sinken und wir erreichen die Phase der offenen Diskussion mit vielen Spielpausen (flüssiger Stickstoff wie immer reichlich vorhanden). Aber immerhin, zu noch etwas schwächer ausgearbeiteten Problems sprudeln die Ideen, die Tafel füllt sich immer mehr.

Tag 2, 3 und 4

Cooler Johannes Johannes beginnt am zweiten Tag mit 34.8°C

Tag zwei beginnt fast pünktlich um 9 Uhr (also um 9:35) und Johannes zeigt uns eine seiner Präsentationen. Um halb zwölf sind wir durch und die Experimente können beginnen!

Cooler Markus Markus, mit britisch coolen 32,7°C

Die kommenden Tage wird fleißig gearbeitet. Alle vermissen Angel, am meisten wohl Markus. Zusammen erfreuen uns die beiden sonst immer mit zahlreichen Variationen über den Monty Python Sketch in der Argument Clinic. No, they don't. Yes they do.

Cooler Peter Peter, 34.8°C

Nicht vergessen darf ich auf Peter und Michaela, unsere zwei Ersatzteammitglieder, die ebenso motiviert und fleißig mitmachen wie der Rest.

Und besonderer Dank gilt auch den oben genennaten "IYPT-Veteranen", für die die Vorbereitungstreffen nicht nur eine Möglichkeit sind sich fachlich und mit IYPT-Erfahrung einzubringen, sondern vorallem ein willkommener Anlass das neue Team kennenzulernen und einander wiedermal zu sehen. Ricky war da, ebenso wie ich im 06er Team, Harald, mit 3 IYPTs ein echter Veteran und Florian hat uns als Ersatz für sein Kommen Schokolade aus der Schweiz mitgebracht. Kein adäquater, aber ein sehr leckerer Ersatz :)

Cooler Tim Tim führt Protokoll über das erste Vorbereitungstreffen bei 35.6°C Gesichtstemperatur

News

2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

Infos , Ausschreibung und vorläufiges Programm sowie Änderungen des Reglements des AYPT 2016 sind ab sofort verfügbar!

Mehr...

2015-11-08 — Erfahrungsbericht IYPT 2015 in Thailand

Ein Artikel von Luisa Schrempf über das IYPT 2015 in Thailand.

Mehr...

2015-10-05 — Generalversammlung 2015

Die Generalversammlung 2015 findet am 28.11.2015 statt.

Mehr...

Alle News lesen