Zur deutschen Version wechseln Zur deutschen Version wechseln

The International Young Physicists' Tournament

The International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT), sometimes referred to as "Physics-Worldcup", is a team-oriented competition between secondary school students. The course is virtually identical to that of the AYPTs.
Strictly speaking one should say that the AYPT is similar to the IYPT since the AYPT is based on the IYPT as a national qualification in Austria.


The concept behind the IYPT originates from the former Soviet Union. After a tournament of that kind was executed there for quite a while the first international IYPT took place in 1988. One of the first western countries to participate where the Netherlands. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the IYPT was carried out in other European countries as well, whereas the number of participating countries grew continuosely.

The Austrian National Team at the IYPT 2005 in Winterthur (Switzerland) The Austrian National Team at the IYPT 2005 in Winterthur (Switzerland)

In 1998, Austria participated the first time in the 11th IYPT in Donaueschingen (Germany). In the following year the AYPT was organized as a qualification competition for the first time. In 1999 Austria furthermore had the honour of organizing the 12th IYPT in Vienna.

In 2004, the IYPT took place outside of Europe for the first time. Venue was Brisbane (Australia).

Meanwhile, the number of participating countries has grown to over 25. There are also representatives from every continent in the meantime.

In addition the IYPT has developed from a lose community of idealists into an officially registered corporation. In many countries there are national organizations, corporations and associations now which organize qualification competitions and represent their respective countries in the committees of the IYPT. Some of these associations, including the Austrian association AYPT , also have been officially and formally recognized by the IYPT in the meantime.


The IYPT is held in another country every year. The IOC decides which of the applying countries may inherit the holding. The organisation itself is then accomplished by Local Organizing Committee (LOC).
Here a list of some past and future (planned) venues:


2016-01-03 — AYPT 2016

General information on, the invitation to and the preliminary schedule of the 18 th Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament 2016 are available now as well as some changes in the regulations !!


2015-10-05 — General Assembly 2015

The General Assembly 2015 will take place on November 28, 2015.


2015-07-09 — Problems for 2016

The Problems for 2016 can be found here .


Read all news