Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament
A Competition for Teams of Young Physicists

AYPT 2020


Thanks to all the participants of the AYPT 2020 who made this tournament such a great experience - despite COVID-19. We hope to see as many of you as possible back in Leoben in 2021!
Congratulations to the team of Villach St. Martin 1 to winning the AYPT 2020!
Digital AYPT 2020

Tournament


The Austrian Young Physicists Tournament (short AYPT) is a team-oriented physics competition among teams of secondary school students. During the tournament the students present their solutions to scientific problems which they have prepared over several months. Their solution is criticized during the course of the tournament by other students and their performance is graded by a jury consisting of experts in the field of physics. The goal of the tournament is to select the five best students which will represent Austria in the International Young Physicists’ Tournament, which is held 2020 in Romania.

The seventeen problems consist come from different disciplines of physics and are sometimes also interdisciplinary. The problems are formulated in a very open way, so that they can be viewed from different angles and as a result there are also several ways to handle them. During the preparation phase the participants try to get as much knowledge about the problems as possible no matter which approaches the students might choose.

Tournament


The Austrian Young Physicists Tournament (short AYPT) is a team-oriented physics competition among teams of secondary school students. During the tournament the students present their solutions to scientific problems which they have prepared over several months. Their solution is criticized during the course of the tournament by other students and their performance is graded by a jury consisting of experts in the field of physics. The goal of the tournament is to select the five best students which will represent Austria in the International Young Physicists’ Tournament, which is held 2020 in Romania.

The seventeen problems consist come from different disciplines of physics and are sometimes also interdisciplinary. The problems are formulated in a very open way, so that they can be viewed from different angles and as a result there are also several ways to handle them. During the preparation phase the participants try to get as much knowledge about the problems as possible no matter which approaches the students might choose.

Structure of the Tournament


The tournament consists of "Physics Fights" with three competing teams: The reporter, the opponent and the reviewer. The reporter presents one of the three previously researched problems in a 12 minute presentation. The opponent points out strengths and weaknesses of the report and starts a 15 minute scientific discussion with the reporter to adress open questions. The reviewer summarizes the report and the discussion and reveals possible shortcomings.

A jury then asks clarifying questions before grading the performance of each team. During the tournament each team participates in 9 rounds: three times each as reporter, opponent and reviewer. The entire Physics Fight is conducted in English. For a more detailed explanation of the tournament please refer to the official regulations.

The AYPT follows a similar schedule each year.

Structure of a Report


A report should show the results of a student’s elaboration within a presentation of 12 min (at least 9 min). It contains the following parts:

  • Statement (the task of the problem)
  • Theory (in every detail, but the other teams should be able to understand everything within the time)
  • Experiments (scientific approach, variation of all possible parameters)
  • Comparison of the theory with the experiment
  • Error analysis and how to prevent and minimise them (realistic!)
  • Conclusion
  • References

More :)


Find posts about the A- and IYPT (mostly german) in our blog and lots of photos in the gallery. Our old website comprised a lot more content and much of it is either timeless or still relevant. Examples include information on past participations in the international competition 2008 and 2009 (preparation, team), a collection of questions and answers, experiences from many years ago and an even high school thesis on the AYPT and IYPT.

Furthermore, there is a glossary of commonly used terms, and a list of reasons why you should participate. There is also a separate website about the IYPT 2010, which we held in Vienna: http://www.iypt.at/

Thanks to our (former) sponsors and supporters! And to this years' team sponsors:

Austrian Young Physicists' Tournament
Der Wettbewerb für junge Physiker*innen

AYPT 2020


Vielen Dank an alle Teilnehmer, die das heurige AYPT trotz COVID-19 zu einer ganz besonderen Erfahrung gemacht haben. Wir hoffen uns 2021 wieder in Leoben zu sehen!
Gratulation an das Team von Villach St. Martin 1 als Gewinner des AYPT 2020!
Hier geht's zum digitalen AYPT 2020

Bewerb


Das Austrian Young Physicists Tournament (kurz AYPT) ist ein teamorientierter Physik Bewerb für Teams aus Oberstufenschüler*innen. Während des Turniers präsentieren die Teilnehmer*innen ihre Lösung zu wissenschaftlichen Problemstellungen, welche sie in den vorhergehenden Monaten ausgearbeitet haben. Ihre Lösungen werden im Laufe des Turniers von anderen Schülern kritisiert und ihre Performance wird von einer Expertenjury bewertet. Ziel des Bewerbs ist es, die besten fünf österreichischen Schüler*innen für das International Young Physicists Tournament in Rumänien (2020) zu nominieren.

Die 17 Aufgabenstellungen (Problems) decken zahlreiche Teildisziplinen der Physik ab und sind mitunter sogar interdisziplinär.

Die Problems sind in einer möglichst offenen Form geschrieben, so dass Schüler*innen diese in unterschiedlichster Weise lösen können. Während der Vorbereitungsphase auf den Bewerb soll das Ziel der Schüler*innen darin bestehen, möglichst facettenreiche experimentelle und theoretische Lösungsmethoden zu verwenden um eine qualitativ hochwertige Lösung präsentieren zu können.

Als mögliche - aber keinesfalls einzige - Anregung kann beispielsweise das inoffizielle "Reference-Kit" dienen. Überdies haben sich einige Physiker bereiterklärt Schülern bei fachlichen Fragen als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung zu stehen. Bei Interesse melden Sie sich bitte bei Mag. Julian Ronacher: support@aypt.at

Ablauf des Bewerbs


Der Wettbewerb besteht aus "Physics Fights" an welchen jeweils drei Teams teilnehmen: Der Reporter, der Opponent sowie der Reviewer. Das Reporter-Team präsentiert (nach Wahl des Opponents) eines der drei vom Reporter-Team vorbereiteten Problems innerhalb von 12 Minuten. Anschließend zeigt der Opponent Stärken und Schwächen des Reports auf und beginnt mit dem Reporter eine 15-minütige, wissenschaftliche Diskussion um offene Fragen zu klären.

Der Reviewer fasst die Inhalte des Reports und der Diskussion zusammen und weist auf etwaige fachliche Fehler hin. Nach abschließenden Fragen wird die Leistung jedes Teams von einer Fachjury bewertet. Bis zum Finale durchläuft jedes Team so insgesamt 9 Runden: Je drei mal als Reporter, Opponent und Reviewer. Der gesamte Physics Fight wird in englischer Sprache durchgeführt. Der detaillierte Ablauf des Bewerbs ist den Regeln und dem über die Jahre sehr einheitlichen Schedule zu entnehmen.

Aufbau eines Reports


Ein Report soll in maximal 12 min (mindestens 9 min) die Arbeit des Schülers oder der Schülerin wiedergeben und folgende Bereiche umfassen:

  • Statement (die Problemstellung)
  • Theorie (möglichst umfangreich, aber dennoch so erklärt, dass es für die Teams in der kurzen Zeit verständlich und nachvollziehbar ist)
  • Experimente und Versuche (wissenschaftlich, Variation der möglichen Parameter)
  • Vergleich der Theorie mit den Experimenten (inkl. den zu ziehenden Schlüssen)
  • Fehlerabschätzung und Vorgangsweise, um diese zu minimieren (realistisch!)
  • Zusammenfassung (Conclusion)
  • Referenzen

mehr :)


Berichte über das A- und IYPT finden sich in unserem Blog, außerdem haben wir viele Fotos von vergangenen AYPTs gesammtelt. Unsere alte Website war wesentlich umfangreicher und viele der Inhalte sind entweder noch aktuell oder zeitlos. Etwa Berichte von vergangenen Teilnahmen am Internationalen Wettbewerb von 2008 und 2009 (Vorbereitung, Team), eine Sammlung von Fragen und Antworten, Teilnahmeberichte von vor vielen Jahren oder eine noch viel ältere Fachbereichsarbeit über das AYPT und IYPT.

Auch aktuellere Berichte, etwa vom IYPT in Thailand 2015 sind verfügbar. Darüber hinaus gibt es ein Glossar mit häufig benutzten Begriffen, sowie eine Liste von Gründen die für eine Teilnahme sprechen. Eine eigene Website widmet sich übrigens dem IYPT 2010 das wir in Wien veranstaltet haben: http://www.iypt.at/

Ein ganz besonderer Dank gilt unseren langjährigen und ehemaligen Sponsoren!

Sowie unseren aktuellen Sponsoren des Nationalteams: